Skip to content

Summer Programs for Smart Kids

June 11, 2010

TRSD summer programs cater to athletes, musicians, and struggling students.  There are no programs to keep the smart kids sharp.  Fortunately, TRSD families have free and inexpensive options…

  • The Virtual Learning Academy Charter School offers free programs.  We have used VLACS for an SAT prep course and my oldest will be taking a spanish class this summer.
  • TenMarks.com is new to me.  I heard this discussed on WRKO this morning and visited their web site.  For $39.99 (use code wrko for a discount to $33.99),  you can use their program all summer.  My junior will be taking Algebra II and my sixth grader will take Step Up to Grade 7.  I’ll post my impressions here.
  • EduBuntu Live DVD will transform a modest PC into an academic kiosk.  Burn the free image onto a DVD, reboot any PC from the DVD and choose the Live option to load the operating system and it’s programs.  When the kids are done, remove the DVD, and reboot to restore the PC to its everyday use.
Comments are closed.

